Say goodbye to Facebook newsfeed spoilers

6th July 2018

Facebook is home to many things - spoilers being one of them. Everyone knows social media, in general, is a no-go when you’re not up-to-date with your favourite programme. Luckily, that all may be about to change.

Back in 2017, Facebook introduced a new Snooze feature that would allow users to hide posts from friends for a maximum of 30 days. Now, in a bid to give users more control over what they see, the social giant is now extending that feature to include certain keywords.

The latest upgrade to Facebook’s snooze button enables users to hide posts that contain certain words or phrases. The new feature will work alongside the original, as well as the Hide and Unfollow buttons we’ve seen on Facebook for a while now.

Facebook-Keyword-Snooze

"Ever read a spoiler online before you've watched the last episode of the season? Or maybe you waited years for a movie sequel only to have your favourite blogger reveal the ending? We've all been there." 

"To prevent future heartache, we're beginning to test the next addition to our suite of News Feed controls, Keyword Snooze.” Facebook News Feed product manager Shruthi Muraleedharan wrote in a blog post. 

It’s currently in testing stages; however, if you’d like to give the new feature a try, take a look at the top right-hand corner of any post in your newsfeed to give it a go.

Facebook-Snooze-Keywords-Option

Believe it or not, Facebook was not the brains behind this idea. Twitter has been allowing users to block specific words since 2016. Instagram also adopted the feature shortly after.

Facebook isn’t just for spoilers. Over 50 million businesses use Facebook pages, and you could too. 

Click here to find out more about our social media management services. Or get in touch for tips on how to improve your online presence.

you may also like...

have a project in mind? let’s chat!
call us 01924 280 876 email us hello@gomedia.co
or find your local account director here.